By, Mackenzie

Another day another dollar, my father used to say, and right now I can most definitely agree. Speaking of dollars I am about to be late to work, again! I don’t have the best paying job in the world, but it pays the bills. Oh if you are wondering I am a librarian, and before you even think about it, no I’m not 80!

But, back to the point I am about to be late to work so I need to get going! I throw my hair up in a quick bun and start running down my apartment buildings stairs, and in the process almost run into the door that connects with the outside. So I shove the door open and I slam into this guy’s shoulder. All I can hear is myself saying, “Oh my goodness I am so sorry!!”
While he is sitting there laughing at me, I’m about to bawl my eyes out, I feel so bad.
“It’s fine, I just have never seen a girl that gets upset about hitting some random person with a door.” He explains while rolling his solder.
“I- I wait what is that supposed to mean?!” I say while trying not to get to defensive.
“Nothing, just that people usually say sorry and then just leave not freak out.”
“Ohh, but sorry again but I have to get to work and I am already late.”
“Hey! It’s fine don’t sweat about it but can I take you out to get some coffee some time?”
“Umm, yeah sure.” I whisper, as I feel my face melting off my skull. He hands me his phone and I really quickly type in my number. I give him back his phone and looks at me and asks
“Just to make sure this is your number so if I call I will hear your voice?”
“Yeah.” I giggle.
“Okay. I just had to ask, but nice to meet you ummm,” he looks down at his phone.
“Isabella.”
“Yes nice to meet you too.”
I procrastinate waiting for him to tell me his name.
“Oh yeah, I’m Justin.”
We both exchange smiles and shake hands give each other one last look, and we go our separate ways. As I walk/run up the street to get to the library I see my best friend, Lily standing in front of the door tapping her foot waiting for me. She sees me and gives the death stare, and I can’t help but say, “I’m sorry okay, I was running late and then bumped into this guy named Justin and I got his number and he is really..”
“You met someone named Justin and you bumped him with a door and you got his number. Am I getting this right?” Lily says not looking interested at all.
“Well, actually I bumped him with the door first and then met him but anyways..”
“Okay.. Okay let’s get inside before we both get fired! You can tell me about this guy you hit with the door later.”
Lily smiles. “You really are the most awesome friend anyone could ask for!”

Reply
Reply to all
Forward

Leave a comment